In 1983, R. Carlos Nakai (Dine/Ute) introduced the haunting and soothing sound of the Native American flute to the world and began an exploration of the musical possibilities of this traditional instrument. This collection of songs draws from the best of Nakai’s recordings and shows the range and versatility of his artistry and musical imagination.

In Beauty, We Return presents songs for solo flute, collaborations with other ethnic artists (Nawang Khechog & Wind Travelin’ Band), jazz (the R. Carlos Nakai Quartet), collaborations with Paul Horn and William Eaton and closes with the traditional flute in an orchestral setting.


TRACKS: Click below to listen.
1. Shaman’s Call (from Earth Spirit CR-612) (2:56)
2. Whippoorwill (from Changes CR-615) (2:59)
3. Song for the Morning Star (from Canyon Trilogy CR-7210) (4:16)
4. Red Streaking into Water (from Emergence CR-609) (3:44)
5. Carry the Gift (from Carry the Gift CR-7006) (6:05)
6. Eye of the Wind (from Inside Monument Valley CR-7020) (3:40)
7. KAMUI (from Island of Bows CR-7018) (3:49)
8. Feather, Stone & Light (from Feather, Stone & Light CR-7011) (4:16)
9. Crow Canyon (from Big Medicine CR-7024) (5:41)
10. My Wild Heart Sings (from In A Distant Place CR-7042) (7:59)
11. Lake that Speaks (from Two World Concerto CR-7016) (7:47)
12. Whippoorwill (from Fourth World CR-7046) (4:19)
13. Amazing Grace (from Inner Voices CR-7021) (3:52)
Total Time: 59:44
Press Direct link to purchase CD through Amazon: