Indian Summer Music Award Winner. R. Carlos Nakai’s flowing flute melodies are enhanced by the restlessly creative imagination of saxophonist-keyboardist AmoChip Dabney and anchored by the nimble rhythms of ethno-world drummer Will Clipman and bassist Johnny Walker. Irresistible global-ethnic-fusion grooves propel the signature sound of Nakai’s Native American flute into newly explored sonic territory.

  • R. Carlos Nakai – Native American flute
  • AmoChip Dabney – saxophone, keyboards, guitar
  • Will Clipman – drums and ethnic percussion
  • Johnny Walker – bass

Live Review: R. Carlos Nakai Quartet at Mesa Arts Center

“Get your arthritis out”, R.Carlos Nakai said, shaking out his arms, before his Quartet took the stage of the Piper Repertory Theater at the Mesa Arts Center last Sunday. “Some of this you can move to.”  The R. Carlos Nakai Quartet played songs off their latest album, What Lies Beyond, released on Canyon Records in Arizona.

Read More…


TRACKS: Click below to listen.
1. What Lies Beyond (7:42)
2. Kathmandu This (8:07)
3. ‘Io Valley (7:10)
4. On Sunlit Wings (5:06)
5. Imazighenation (8:37)
6. Fiddy Fo’ (5:53)
7. Unidentified Identity (5:32)
8. Caf̩e du Monde (5:07)
9. Sonoran Spring (6:25)
10. Gnu Queue (4:52)
Total Time: 64:31
Press Direct link to purchase CD through Amazon: